Founded in 2008 by Adam Nihmey, Eldercare Foundation of Ottawa (Eldercare) is dedicated to the continuous improvement of quality of life in Ottawa’s long-term care (LTC) facilities.

Adam was motivated to establish Eldercare after witnessing his grandparents’ experience in long-term care facilities. He noticed these homes were highly underfunded and as a result, residents and staff were faced with a number of issues, including lack of stimulating activity, isolation and sedentarism, and poor equipment in the homes. He felt compelled to make a difference.

Firmly rooted in the belief that each senior citizen in LTC deserves every opportunity to live a happy, healthy, comfortable life, no matter what their financial situation might be, Eldercare issues community grants that effect meaningful change.


The Eldercare Foundation of Ottawa is a registered Canadian charity (charitable number: 83447 7184 RR0001) and is governed by the Canada Revenue Agency.

Our volunteer Board of Directors provide strategic and financial oversight to our organization, and is represented by various professionals from industry, medicine and other sectors. The one thing they all share in common is the belief that residents in not-for-profit long-term care deserve the best quality of life possible.

Beginning as a donor-advised endowment fund under the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Eldercare now operates as a volunteer-run organization, as well as a self-sustainable charitable legal entity. The Community Foundation of Ottawa continues to manage our endowment fund.


The Board of Directors is currently comprised of 7 members, including Founder and Chairman, Adam Nihmey. The Board provides guidance, insight and recommendations on strategy and operations. Our current Board is represented by:

Betty Hope-Gittens (Honorary Chair), Retired

Oriana Trombetti (Chair), Retired Senior Executive and General Counsel – Department of Justice Canada

Daniel Saikaley, Financial Advisor – CIBC Wood Gundy

Adam C. Nihmey, CFA, CBV, Founder – Eldercare Foundation of Ottawa

Laura Monette

Debbie Ferrigan

Past members (since 2008) include:

Cathleen Cogan Bird

Scott Boassaly

Denis Schryburt

Kaitlin van Gaal

Jan Ditchfield

Dr. Philip Patel

Irene Martin

Sheila Bauer

Tom Wileman

Kay Stanley

Andrew Arnott

Penny Collenette

Ronald Clark

Marlynne Ferguson

Patrick LeClair

Brian Radburn

Dr. John Russell

Lawrence Grant

Donna Rubin

©2017 Copyright - Eldercare Foundation - Ottawa